Interstate Passport Briefing

The Interstate Passport Network welcomes its first institution from Colorado

On June 28, 2019 Adams State University became the first institution from the state of Colorado to join the Interstate Passport Network, bringing total membership to 31 institutions in 13 different states. 

Adams State University is a public four-year institution located in Alamosa, Colorado that serves over 1,700 undergraduate students. Adams State University is dedicated to fostering Inclusive Excellence, recognizing that the University’s success depends on valuing, engaging and celebrating the rich diversity of its students, staff, faculty and administrators. Since its cornerstone was laid in 1921, Adams State University grew from a teachers’ college into a fine liberal arts university. Adams State is the first federally designated Hispanic Serving Institution in Colorado and is the Regional Education Provider for southern Colorado. About 45 percent of undergraduate students represent minority groups, and 35 percent identify as Hispanic. Today, students can earn a bachelor’s degree in 30 different areas, with 56 emphases, five teacher licensure programs, and 10 pre-professional programs, in addition to 7 master’s degrees and 1 doctoral degree offered in Counselor Education.

President Cheryl D. Lovell states that Adams State University sees tremendous benefits and advantages to the Interstate Passport, and we are excited to be the first institution in Colorado to become a member. We are also very excited to provide additional ways to serve students, especially historically under-served populations, by providing a seamless transfer option into one of our high quality undergraduate programs.”